Gerry Baja, Radio Broadcaster of the Year

Gerry Baja poses with his new trophies after being named Radio Broadcaster of the Year by the Rotary Club of Manila.

DZMM Radyo Patrol 630, which is celebrating its 30th anniversary, has another reason to celebrate after being hailed as the Radio Station of the Year at the Rotary Club of Manila’s (RCM) annual Journalism Awards held at the New World Hotel ballroom last June 30. The flagship AM radio station of ABS-CBN and the number one AM radio station in Mega Manila, DZMM also received the same honor last year.

“We are humbled by this acknowledgement of our efforts by the Rotary Club of Manila. We always strive to be faithful to the needs of our audience, whether it’s news, analysis and commentary or public service events. This recognition serves to remind us why we do what we do. DZMM, and the entire ABS-CBN News, will continue to respond to needs of the Filipino. We’ve been doing it for 30 years, and we remain focused on continuing this mission in the years to come,” said Ging Reyes, head of the ABS-CBN Integrated News and Current Affairs.
ABS-CBN, the Philippines’ leading media and entertainment company, won three other distinctions to be the most awarded news organization that night.

“S.O.C.O.: Scene of the Crime Operatives” host Gus Abelgas was awarded the Television Male Broadcaster of the Year, while “Dos Por Dos” anchor Gerry Baja took home the Radio Broadcaster of the Year award.

Abelgas’ long-running crime investigative program has consistently rated high in its weekend timeslot, with viewers tuning in to learn how to protect their families based on the experiences featured in the show. Baja, meanwhile, continues to provide news analysis and sharp commentary on issues in his radio program.

Fellow DZMM anchor and reporter, Jasmin Romero, was honored by RCM as Radio Female Broadcaster of the Year. While also reporting for ABS-CBN on TV, Romero showed she is still tops in the platform where she first made a name for herself.

Now on its 30th year, DZMM has constantly evolved to reach more Filipinos. It has the first-ever radio-television simulcast in DZMM TeleRadyo on SkyCable and ABS-CBN TVplus, while it also offers audio streaming on its website and news updates on Twitter and Facebook (@DZMMTeleRadyo).

These triumphs of ABS-CBN came on the heels of a successful Inauguration Day coverage dubbed “Ang Panunumpa: Pangako ng Pagbabago,” which rated higher than its competitors according to ratings data provider Kantar Media. ABS-CBN’s coverage garnered an 18.8% national TV rating while GMA’s coverage only managed 13.4%.

One of the oldest and most prestigious award-giving bodies in journalism, the RCM Journalism Awards has been recognizing outstanding individuals and organizations in Philippine media annually since 1966.




Gus Abelgas, Gerry Baja, at Jasmin Romero, pinarangalan


Nadagdagan ng ipagdiriwang ang DZMM Radyo Patrol 630, pagkatapos tanghaling “Radio Station on the Year” ng Rotary Club of Manila (RCM) sa ginanap na Journalism Awards noong June 30. Ito ang ikalawang sunod na taong tinanggap ng flagship AM radio station ng ABS-CBN ang karangalang ito mula sa RCM.

Kasalukuyan ding ginugunita ng DZMM, ang numero unong AM radio station sa Mega Manila, ang ika-30 taong anibersaryo nito ngayong taon.

Nasungkit din ng ABS-CBN, ang nangungunang media at entertainment company sa bansa, ang tatlo pang tropeo para maging pinaka-pinarangalang news organization sa ginawang awards ngayong taon.

Ang beteranong mamamahayag na si Gus Abelgas ng “S.O.C.O.: Scene of the Crime Operatives” ang tinanghal na “Television Male Broadcaster of the Year,” samantalang ang “Dos Por Dos” anchor na si Gerry Baja naman ang “Radio Broadcaster of the Year.” Ang kapawa niya DZMM anchor at reporter na si Jasmin Romero naman ang “Radio Female Broadcaster of the Year.”

Ayon sa ratings data mula sa Kantar Media, hindi matinag ang crime investigative program ni Abelgas sa timeslot nito na naglalayong gabayan ang mga Pilipino kung paano iingatan ang sarili at pamilya base sa mga nilalahad nilang krimen. Si Baja naman, walang takot na nagbibigay impormasyon at komentaryo sa mga isyu sa kanyang radio program. Samantalang si Romero, na lumalabas din sa TV, ay pinatunayang siya ang pinakamagaling sa radyo kung saan una siyang nakilala.
Patuloy naman ang ebolusyon ng DZMM na tatlong dekada nang nangunguna sa balita at public service. Para maabot ang mas maraming Pilipino, una ang DZMM sa pagpapalabas ng mga programa nito sa TV sa pamamagitan ng DZMM TeleRadyo sa SkyCable at ABS-CBN TVplus. Mayroon din itong audio streaming sa at naghahatid din ng news updates sa Twitter at Facebook (@DZMM TeleRadyo).

Sinundan ng mga panalong ito ang matagumpay na Inauguration Day coverage ng ABS-CBN na “Ang Panunumpa: Pangako ng Pagbabago,” na mas mataas ang nakuhang ratings ayon sa Kantar Media. Nakakuha ang ABS-CBN ng 18.8% national TV rating  samantalang 13.4% lang ang nakuha ng GMA.

Ang RCM Journalism Awards, na nagsimula pa noong 1966, ay isang sa pinakamatagal at pinakaprestihiyosong award-giving bodies sa larangan ng Journalism, na pinararangalan ang mga pinakamagaling na indibidwal at organisasyon sa media.


Comments are closed.